Vacancy: Respiratory Research Editors-in-Chief

Respiratory Research is recruiting two new Editors-in-Chief. 

View job description here


View all articles

View all articles

Aims and scope

Respiratory Research publishes high-quality clinical and basic research, review and commentary articles on all aspects of respiratory medicine and related diseases.

As the leading fully open access journal in the field, Respiratory Research provides an essential resource for pulmonologists, allergists, immunologists and other physicians, researchers, healthcare workers and medical students with worldwide dissemination of articles resulting in high visibility and generating international discussion.

Editorial board

Jan Lötvall, Göteborg University, Sweden
Reynold A Panettieri. Jr, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA

Associate Editors
Alaina Ammit,  University of Technology Sydney, Australia
Robert Bals, Saarland University, Germany
Francesco Blasi, University of Milan, Italy
Arnaud Bourdin, University of Montpellier, France
Mario Cazzola, Antonio Cardarelli Hospital, Italy
Bruno Crestani, Bichat Hospital, France
Jeanine D'Armiento, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, USA
Massimo Di Maio, University of Turin, Italy
Louise Donnelly, Imperial College London, UK
Hiromasa Inoue, Kagoshima University, Japan
Victor Kim, Temple University School of Medicine, USA
Victor Laubach, University of Virginia, USA
Stylianos Orfanos, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
Stephen Peters, Wake Forest University Health Sciences, USA
YS Prakash, Mayo Clinic, USA
Sundeep Salvi, Chest Research Foundation, India
Dale D Tang, Albany Medical College, USA
Johan Verbraecken, Antwerp University Hospital, Belgium

View more

Featured blog post: Vaping is less harmful than conventional smoking

New Content ItemWith the increasing popularity of "vaping" across the world, a new study from Respiratory Research shows that regardless of flavor, vaping does less damage to the lungs than conventional smoking.

Read the blog post here

Featured review: The roles and regulation of the actin cytoskeleton, intermediate filaments and microtubules in smooth muscle cell migration

© iStockThe dynamic actin cytoskeleton spatially and temporally regulates protrusion, adhesions, contraction, and retraction from the cell front to the rear. Recent studies suggest that intermediate filaments undergo reorganization during migration, which coordinates focal adhesion dynamics, cell contraction, and nucleus rigidity. This review recapitulates our current knowledge how the three cytoskeletal systems spatially and temporally modulate the migratory properties of cells.

Read the article

Editors profiles

Jan Lötvall
Professor at the Department of Internal Medicine, and Chairman of the Krefting Research Centre at the University of Gothenburg.

Submit your review

Respiratory Research welcomes review articles on a variety of different topics relating to the scope of the journal. Submit your review today.

For further queries or to discuss the limited funds which may be available to cover the article-processing charge, please contact the editorial team.

Reynold Panettieri
Professor and Vice Chancellor for Translational Medicine and Science at The State University of New Jersey.

Sign up to receive article alerts

Respiratory Research is published continuously online-only and so we encourage you to sign up to receive free email alerts to keep up to date with all of the latest research by registering here.